Week 2

21Feb14

I didn’t do as well this week, I am down .4 lbs. I guess it is better than the scale going up, but I am a little disappointed in myself. I was eating different things this week, which may account for it. I did go a little crazy on Valentine’s Day, but I was really good the rest of the week. I don’t know, but I am going to be more diligent this week.

I’ve gotten in the habit of trying to save as many points as I can for dinner because it is usually my biggest meal of the day. But then I have so many left over that I don’t use them all. There has to be a balance, I just haven’t found it yet. I also find myself really scared to eat out because I don’t want to use any points. I have been mastering the art of eating things with 1-2 points.

Practically every recipe I have made has come from SkinnyTaste. Here’s what’s been cooking in my kitchen this week:

Pasta with Asparagus - I made this last night and added some grilled chicken to it. So delicious! It wasn’t super saucy, so I think I need to add more asparagus water next time. J loved it and he is the king of extra sauce on his pasta. So simple and quick. Also, don’t skimp on the salt and pepper.

Zoodles – I am really enjoying using vegetables as a pasta substitute. This was my first attempt at zucchini noodles. I loosely based it on this recipe for the zucchini, but used store-bought sauce and did grilled chicken. I used 2 zucchini and 1 squash and it wasn’t enough for the two of us. I think I may have overcooked them because it was a little soggy. Or I didn’t drain them long enough. Still delicious.

Chocolate Ricotta Mousse – I could not for the life of me beat this enough and it came out gritty. The flavor was there but I couldn’t get over the grit. Definitely worth another try though, maybe I’ll let J take a stab at it. He’s the kitchen master.

20140221-073747.jpg

Roasted Strawberry Banana Bread – SO good! I added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and we have been eating it all week.

My activity of choice this week has been Dance Central 3. My muscles are definitely tired after a session. I think I need to kick it up a notch though.  A friend of mine just got Hip Hop Abs and I am dying to try it.

This weekend is all about catching up with friends. I am seeing my college roommates for lunch and then hanging out with my friends from high school. I think I will make this for Saturday night and use Picky Palate’s homemade dough instead. Going back to work this week was rough, I am not looking forward to a full week next week.

In the animal world, the girls are getting along so much better. They constantly chase each other around the house. Guinney plays fetch… Like a dog. It’s cute. Maybe Riley will learn a few tricks. Oh yeah, we have officially decided to keep the kitty and named her Lady Guinevere. Aka Guinney. Though I will probably always call her Kitty in some form or fashion.

Photo dump of the animals this week:

20140221-073725.jpg

Fun in the snow

20140221-073735.jpg

Hello there!

20140221-073755.jpg

They sleep the exact same way

20140221-073811.jpg

Just chilling

No Responses Yet to “Week 2”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

