Chicken Enchiladas

14Jan12

I love Mexican – my two favorites are fajitas and enchiladas. For the most part, it is always good and cheap – also two of my favorite things. The only thing I’ve ever made at home are tacos because of their simplicity. It was time to step it up a notch so I made chicken enchiladas. Anything that combines cheese and chicken has my vote, and this recipe definitely delivered. Through Pinterest, I found Joyful Momma’s Kitchen and used her recipe.

The cast of characters:

I went with canned chicken because it was in the cabinet and easier; it was just as good. For the cheese, I decided on a Monterrey Jack and Cheddar cheese blend. The only things missing from this picture are butter and flour.


 
Look at all that cheese and chicken! Next time, I would use more chicken. I used the smaller cans of chicken because that’s all I had – I’m sure two of the big cans would have sufficed.

 

 

Filling the tortillas was definitely trial and error. With the corn tortillas, you can’t stuff them too full and have to take extra caution when rolling them. I should have used a bigger pan, they were a little squished and some of the tortillas started to break (mainly from my impatience with rolling). I didn’t worry about it too much since it would be covered in sauce and baked.


 
 
 

Don’t be like me…

 
 
 
 
 
 

This sauce was so easy! You first mix butter and flour until smooth, then add chicken broth and bring to a boil. Lastly, you add sour cream and diced green chilies. As the recipe says, turn down the heat and do not boil it after you add the sour cream. Make sure to taste it. I made the mistake and didn’t and I wish I added more green chilies.


 
Pour the sauce over the enchiladas making sure to get in every nook and cranny. Then cover it with a lot more cheese. As much cheese as you can stand. I love cheese, it makes everything better. I was lactose intolerant as a child and I am more than making up for it now. I sometimes feel sorry for my child-self for what I was missing out on… but I digress. Once you put an adequate amount of cheese on top, pop it in the oven for 20ish minutes.

 

If you are like me and can’t stand having nothing to do, whip up some homemade guacamole! A couple avocados, red onion, tomatoes, lime juice and salt and you have yourself some delicious guacamole. Silly me forgot to take a picture before devouring it.

 

After the enchiladas are cooked, put it under the broiler for a couple of minutes to brown the cheese. Serve and enjoy! I served it with some Spanish rice and a side salad. The BF and I went to bed overly stuffed and very, very happy! The best part? They make awesome leftovers!

How delicious does that look?!

No Responses Yet to “Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

