Carne Bistec

23Jan12

Carne Bistec is Colombian steak with onions and tomatoes. I have never tried this meal before, I’m not even sure I’ve ever had Colombian food. But on my quest to try new recipes, I stumbled across this one. I am not the biggest fan of cooked tomatoes, but wanted to give them another chance.


 

I used stir-fry steak because it took out a step. There were very few ingredients with this recipe and it could all be made in one pan.

 
 
 
 

This was a very easy recipe. There weren’t exact measurements on this recipe, it was all to taste. First, you cook the steak on high heat, then let it rest while you make the sauce. I ended up letting the sauce sit for a while, which really made all the flavors come together. This was my first time using cumin, so I went light on it. The tomatoes I used were very sweet, so cooking them longer helped.

 
 
 

After everything is mixed back together.

 
 
 
 
 
 

I sautéed some cabbage in soy sauce, pepper and garlic to serve along with it and put it over some rice. Overall, it was a pretty good meal. I don’t think I will ever be a fan of cooked tomatoes though…

Original recipe from skinnytaste.

No Responses Yet to “Carne Bistec”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

