It’s Chicken

02Aug12

I have been biting my tongue about this because a political debate is the last thing I want to get into. But all this Chick-fil-A hoopla needs to stop. People get their panties in a twist over everything these days, and I’m done reading and hearing about it. Let me preface that I do not agree with what the owner of Chick-fil-A believes, but I do believe he has the right to. Just like I have the right to disagree. But why show him the same intolerance that the world is trying to prevent? Because that is exactly what it is doing.

An alum at my alma mater decided to pick a fight with the school because we have a Chick-fil-A on campus. He is refusing to be associated with the University community and will not support the institution financially or otherwise until Chick-fil-A is removed from campus. He is claiming it is a statement against tolerance at the university. I have a HUGE problem with this. My university has NOTHING to do with the ongoing debate and it has no reason to be drawn into it. Just by having it on campus, which has been there long before this debate started, does not mean the university holds the same opinions. And to just assume that it does is completely ignorant. It is a business. IT’S CHICKEN. To be so indignant about a university that you once claimed to love is just plain stupid. This school embraces individuality and acceptance of others. Here, they taught us how to grow and learn and be open to new experiences and people and lifestyles. They preached nothing more than acceptance and tolerance. How dare you try to color them in any other way.

In my opinion, it makes you no better than those on the other side doing the exact same thing. When those who were against gay marriage started banning products, people laughed and bashed them. How is this any different?! Because it is your viewpoint, it makes it okay to hate on someone else? You scream for tolerance, yet you are not willing to give it? You want change? Then be the better and bigger person. Don’t stoop to their pathetic tactics.

I believe in love and happiness. I don’t care who you are or who you love as long as YOU are happy. Seriously, who is it hurting??

When it comes to Chick-fil-A, they are not telling you how to live, they are not disrupting your everyday life. If you choose to boycott, that is your own prerogative and more power to you. But don’t get innocent bystanders involved who have no reason to be a part of the attack.

And I hate everyone on both sides adding fuel to the fire. “National Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day”? Seriously?! Why was that even necessary?! We didn’t have “Oreo Appreciation Day” when everyone started hating on the rainbow cookie (which was awesome in my opinion). And everyone on social media bashing one side or the other. Everyone just has to prove they are better. You know what this leads to? War. A war when there is no business for a war.

People will always have differing opinions. I would not throw my beliefs in your face as I would not want you to throw yours in mine. I would hope we can happily coexist and agree to disagree. The name-calling and temper tantrums aren’t going to change a damn thing.

Let’s practice what we preach, and treat others how we would like to be treated. What happened to those golden rules?

No Responses Yet to “It’s Chicken”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

