Here and There

23Aug12

Happy almost-Friday! I am rather pumped for this weekend, but then again, who isn’t.

August 23rd is a very special day – First off, it is one of my best friend’s birthday, and birthdays are awesome.

It is also my parents’ wedding anniversary. 26 years ago they decided to tie the knot and have never looked back. My parents are the cutest people in the world and I am very lucky they decided to get together. They have had their share of hardships, and always came out fighting. How they met is also really cute.. and hilarious:

On Halloween many moons ago, some mutual friends decided to throw a party. My dad was supposed to be meeting my aunt that night. Little did he know, another woman would capture his attention. My mom was sick with a cold and “grouchy” as my dad likes to say. They struck up a conversation, something clicked, and that was that.

Must be love if there was attraction through mucus.

I always wonder what would have happened if my dad met my aunt first… or how my aunt feels about the whole situation (just for the record, there is no bad blood, we are all one big happy family).

Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad!

Speaking of birthdays, J really enjoyed his. I made a peanut butter fudge cheesecake from scratch (I used Brown Eyed Baker’s recipe) and it was baller! We went out for dinner and drinks with some friends and I got these amazing swirls that are bigger than my head. For his birthday, I got him a ticket to Sunday in the Country and a CD he has been really wanting (who buys CDs anymore?). He has not stopped playing it since the moment he got it… I might be kind of regretting my decision on that one.

Our move-in date is September 9 and it is rapidly approaching. Of course that same weekend is the Jason Aldean concert, so I will be filled with lots of caffeine and probably Aleve. Everything has been switched over and currently just working on some final logistical things. Oh.. and packing… that seems to be moving slower than molasses. I keep tricking myself into believing there is bookoos of time left. There’s not – 3 weeks and counting!

So, funny story. Close to when we first moved in, we were taking out the trash and it accidentally leaked on the carpet. Since we were running out the door and being the dummy that I am, I sprayed some cleaner on it and didn’t think twice. When we came home, there was a lovely little bleach spot on the beige carpet – I will never be able to live this moment down. Since we really like money and want our deposit back, something had to be done about this spot. With the help of Google, I found a carpet dying company (Colorful Carpets) in the area and they were amazing! We had them come out this week and you cannot even tell there was a spot; and their prices are really reasonable too. I was singing like a choir of angels… and have promised to never use anything on the carpet but some hot water and soap. They were really great to work with and I highly recommend them if you ever find yourself in a similar predicament.

Last night, J surprised me with some crab legs for dinner and let me tell you they were the best crab legs I have had in a long time. Sad fact, I have not had any crabs this summer and in Maryland, that is a complete travesty. Long story short, they made my night and he is the absolute best.

We are gearing up for our busy season at work, and I’m a little terrified. Have to keep remembering, if I made it through the beginning of the year, I can absolutely make it now.

Sorry for the lackluster post. To make up for it, here are some more pics of Riley, because who doesn’t love those:

One Response to “Here and There”

  1. 1 yourothermotherhere

    Your post made me smile.


Leave a Reply

