Remembering to Appreciate What You Have

03Dec12

I’m in a funk. I don’t know if it’s the weather or the time change, but I’m definitely in a funk. I don’t want to be responsible for things anymore, I don’t want to be stressed out about everything anymore, I’m tired of working my ass off and not having what I want… I just want to fall off the grid for a little while and magically come back to everything being fixed.

And then I slap myself because I have a freaking lot to be appreciative for, so to remind myself of that, I’m going to make a list:

  • My parents – without their love and sacrifice I would never be where I am today. Both my parents immigrated here from other countries and worked multiple jobs and gave up their lives so my sister and I could have everything we wanted. They gave us the education and opportunity they never had and if you ever ask them what they want they say, “for our kids to be happy and successful.” I can’t begin to comprehend the amount of self-sacrifice that takes. To this day, when they should be thinking of retirement, they can’t because they didn’t plan for themselves, they planned for their kids. I owe everything I have to them and one day hope I can give back to them in the manner they deserve.
  • My sister – oh what is there to say about my little carbon copy? She is mini-me and still not quite sure why she wants to be like me. She may be 5 years younger than me, but she is sharp as a tack and sassy as anything. I know no matter what she has my back and I have hers. My mom always said “Your sister is all you are going to have in this world, take care of each other.”
  • My dog – little miss Riley. Even though she is a total brat and scared of everything, I can’t imagine life without her. Sure, we probably could have waited for a better time to get a dog, but we wouldn’t have had her. I absolutely believe we found each other at the perfect time. She needed love, and there was a hole in our hearts from Pug. I think Pug helped us find her. No matter how shitty of a day, none of it matters once you see her jumping around because you are home. There is nothing like the unconditional love of a dog. Even though we leave her all day or don’t always run around with her, she is always excited and happy just to see you.
  • My job – I am very blessed to have a job that is not only in my field of interest but that I love. My coworkers are amazing, my boss is the best, and I like what I do. I get to travel, meet new people, and my boss is always pushing us to learn and grow. I am very thankful this opportunity presented itself and I will prove my damnedest that I deserve it. Not to mention they have a really great benefits package. And without it, we couldn’t pay the bills.
  • Money – I guess job and money go hand in hand. Sometimes (okay a lot of the time), I have to remind myself that money is not the end-all, be-all. Yes, it’s nice to have it and no, we don’t have a lot of it. But we have enough to pay the bills, put food on the table, and still get to hang out with friends. And for now, that’s all we need. There are so many people who can’t even do that right now. I am always stressed out the wazzoo when it comes to money and always feel like there isn’t enough, but somehow at the end of the month it always comes together. I am very thankful for that.
  • My apartment – I have a roof over my head with electricity and running water. It is the perfect size for us right now and there is nothing better than being able to go home to you own place with your own things and decorations. I have always lived with a roommate and I love that I have a place that is all mine. Yes, I do live with J, but he is very different from a roommate. We still have our hiccups but we are learning what works for us.
  • My car – I am extremely blessed to have my car and the freedom to go wherever I want. It is definitely something I take for granted on a daily basis.
  • My health – I am very thankful for my health. Though I never know what to do with my sick days, I am very lucky to not have to use them. Many close to me are/have been plagued with ugly diseases and it breaks my heart every time. My only hope is that I can stay healthy to take care of those loved ones.
  • My friends – I have very different groups of friends. While they don’t always meld cohesively, they all serve a different purpose in my life and I am thankful for the experiences and relationships I have built with each and every one of them. I know when I am down, there is always someone to pick me up. On the flip side, they always know they can count on me. I know I have not always been the best of a friend and life gets crazy and chaotic, but I always know where I can turn for laughter, tears and hugs.
  • My extended family – my parents come from big families – my mom one of 9 and my dad one of 6. That is a lot of aunts, uncles and cousins. I love family get-togethers: they are always loud and loud. The sisters bickering, native languages being yelled, it’s good time for all. When we go back to my parents countries (my mother is Filipino and my father is Vietnamese), there is so much family there to see and visit with as well. It has given me a whole new perspective on how people live and what it means to be a family. Though we may not speak the same language, we know we are family.
  • Food blogs – So I am not the best cook in the world, but I am trying to learn! We can’t all be like J who could look at a pile of ingredients and make something phenomenal. Thank god for food blogs. The Pioneer Woman, Picky Palate, and Can You Stay for Dinner are my go-tos for new recipes slash I love their writing.
  • Blogs in general – It may be dorky, but my Google reader is filled with blogs I read on the regular. They make the day go by just a little bit faster. I am always amazed how open people can be and I always feel like their friends at the end of it (is that creepy?). And it’s always nice to know that you aren’t the only one out there having a shitty day or get excited about stupid stuff. Some of my faves are: MODG, Okay, BA, Filing Jointly…Finally. If you haven’t checked them out yet, do it. It’ll change your life.
  • My best friend/person – I met my BFF on our study abroad in London. As luck would have it, we needed one more person for our flat and we had a mutual friend in common. Since the moment we landed in London, we became inseparable. Sometimes it feels like we share one brain and she knows what I am feeling and thinking before I even say it and vice-versa. She is always game for anything, and I hope I am the same. We always know that whenever the two of us are together, fun will be had! We have had our fights, some bigger than others, but we always know we’ll be there for each other. There are very few people I can handle the honest truth from, and she’s one of them. I know she is not saying things just to be saying them. I am very lucky to have her in my life and to call her my person (i know.. cheesy grey’s anatomy reference…).
  • J – I cannot have a list of things I appreciate without listing J. He has changed my life in ways I could not imagine. We have gone through a lot in the almost two years we have been together. Life has been rough, but we are making it through together. He drives me crazy on the daily, but always knows how to bring a smile to my face. I will leave it at that since an anniversary post is on its way. Prepare for more gushiness.

There are a million other things I am appreciative and thankful for, but I think this covers the big stuff. I’ll probably make another list in the near future. Just reading the list reminds me that I need to stop being an asshole. Things will happen when they are supposed to and I have to be patient. A lot easier said than done, seeing as how I am an impatient, control freak. But some things are out of my hands, I can do whatever I want, but nothing is going to rush the bigger plan that is out there.

Happy Monday!

One Response to “Remembering to Appreciate What You Have”


  1. 1 More of the Things I Appreciate « According to B

Leave a Reply

