What Time Is It?

18Jan13

It is currently 1pm PST but if you asked me, I couldn’t tell you if it was night or day. I am at the end of my business trip and it was been quite a ride. Coast to coast traveling isn’t usually this bad for me, but this trip I am struggling. I kept waking up super early and wanting to go to bed at 7. Until today of course… I think my body has finally adjusted to the time change and getting out of bed was ridiculously difficult.

Usually my business trips are 3 days, so the time change doesn’t really affect me and I transition back quickly. This trip has been my longest (7 days) and I’m taking the red eye back home. I forsee a weekend of nothing but sleep in my future.

I really can’t complain though, I have spent 3 days in Portland and 2 days in LA – two places I can now cross off my bucket list.

20130118-135948.jpg

Portland from the hotel

I ate myself silly through Portland. We got some Voodoo Doughnuts the first day and I fell into a straight sugar coma. I chose the Fruit Loop one and it was an excellent choice! For dinner, we went to the Deschutes Brewery. The beer was delicious as were the burgers. We have a local office in Portland, so it was nice to hang out with people I don’t see on a regular basis. Also, big plus, they know all the great places to go!

20130118-140112.jpg

Delicious!

The next day we went to Clyde Common and it was probably my favorite place on the trip. Everything was fresh and local. They make an amazing pomegrante and grapefruit lemonade (and I don’t even like grapefruit!) and gourmet popcorn at its finest.

On our last day, we cut out on the hotel lunch to be a Portland local and dine at the food carts! The pod we went to was huge and way too many choices. I decided on Sawasdee Thai and I highly recommend it. It was made fresh and very quick.

I was then off to LA. My connecting flight was cancelled, so I got in a little bit later than I had anticipated. Even at 10:30 at night, traffic was insane! I was greeted by the beautiful sight of palm trees leaving the airport and the bright lights of the Staple Center as I reached my hotel. The next day, after our training ended, we went for dinner at the Engine Company No. 28. It is a restaurant built in an old firehouse and was beautiful! I have always wanted to renovate a home inside an old firehouse (weird I know…) so this was definitely an experience.

20130118-140218.jpg

Los Angeles from the hotel

We called it an early night since we were all exhausted and I spent the last night packing and watching My Big Fat American Gypsy Family… or something like that… on TLC. That is some quality television.

I love that my job has given me so many opportunities to travel, but the catch side is there is not much time to explore. You spend most of your time in the hotel, so almost all activity happens at night. It doesn’t leave much time for touristy things. And most of the time, I am too exhausted to even think of doing something more than getting dinner and going to bed. I really need to start factoring in an extra day or something at the end of the trip to actually see a city. But schedules don’t always allow for that. If I’m being completely honest, I wouldn’t want to do that anyway unless J was with me and he could experience it too.

This was also a big step in my career, as it was my first solo meeting. Our planner handled securing the locations and I handled the rest of the logistics. Not without a million questions might I had. I’m sure my coworker was really ready for me to leave by the end of that! I’ve learned a lot on this trip. I’ve learned how to be more assertive (though still very much a work in progress) and it reaffirmed that this is really what I want to be doing. This was a much smaller scale meeting in comparison, but it was still mine. We all have to start somewhere right?

As great as this trip has been, I am really ready to be home. I miss J and I miss my puppy and I miss not living out of a suitcase. But I will be home again soon and itching for the next adventure!

20130118-140307.jpg

Having some serious puppy withdrawal… how could you not miss this little one?!

No Responses Yet to “What Time Is It?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

