Month of Thanks

03Nov13

I’m a couple days behind on this, but there are a lot of things I am thankful for and what better time than November to list them.

November 1: I am thankful for new opportunities.
This past Monday, I started a new job within my company. I moved departments to a role that is more active within the non-profit and is more involved in the operational/field work. I was not looking for a new job, this kind of fell into my lap and opened a whole new door of possibilities. But I have been itching for something more. With all the changes this year, I was forced to look at myself and really think about what I want to do with my life. I want to do some good in the world and use my skills to help people. I wasn’t doing that in my current role. As much as I loved the job and my team, it wasn’t fulfilling this other part of me. I contemplated applying for the Peace Corps. Drastic, but I wanted drastic. When I got the new job, I decided to put 110% into it before making any other changes. I was hesitant about this job because it is completely different than what I have been doing and what I envisioned myself doing. But dreams and goals change, and that’s okay. With much encouragement from my friends and family, I took the leap and so far I am really happy that I did. I am thankful that I have these chances to take.

20131103-140243.jpg

November 2: I am thankful for Riley
Without fail, there is one face that can make my day infinitely better. That would be my dog. No matter what happens or for how long I have been gone, she is there to greet me and take away any worry or stress. J and I adopted Riley on a whim, we were contemplating getting a dog but weren’t totally prepared for it. To add to the challenge, she was a puppy mill dog with several issues that needed to be worked through. It took a long time to develop her routine and get her familiar with her surroundings. There were so many times we had no idea what we were doing or questioned what we got ourselves into. But she needed our love and we needed her. It will be two years in March and progress has been slow but steady.  She was also a big step in J’s and my relationship. Besides moving in, we committed ourselves to being her “parents” for the foreseeable future. Which meant we were not only committing ourselves to her, but to each other. It was a big step for both of us and I am thankful everyday that we took it.

20131103-140358.jpg

November 3: I am thankful for the fall weather
Fall is my favorite season. The chill in the air, the changing of the colors… it’s beautiful. I am not a fan of the cold, but fall is the perfect in between. I hate when it gets darker outside, but love all the fall activities. It’s perfect for wine tasting, apple picking, pumpkin patches and hiking. Riley loves it just as much as I do and we have been enjoying some great walks outside. Everything is pumpkin flavored and it gives me an excuse for to make soup and stews and everything comforting to the soul.

That’s all for now, more thanks to come!

No Responses Yet to “Month of Thanks”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

