Woah Mid-November

18Nov13

This month has completely gotten away from me. Let’s do some quick catch-up.

November 7: I am thankful for a man who cooks
Before meeting J, my idea of a good dinner was a bag of microwaveable veggies and popcorn. That did not last very long in this house. J worked in restaurants for most if his life and it is something he is really really good at. He love to try new things and all about presentation. Cooking relaxes him while it makes me a giant stress ball. It’s something that we can do together and he is super patient with me when I freak out. He also makes some of the most amazing food I have ever had.

November 8: I am thankful for public transportation
It has never been easier to get from point A to point B. Now that I work in DC, it makes my commute a hell of a lot easier instead of battling traffic everyday. Keeps me a nicer person too.

November 9: I am thankful for my alma mater
I went back to Elon for homecoming this year and it was a completely different place from when I was attended. They are constantly growing and building and campus looks so different than hat I am accustomed to. It was amazing to see the transformation. I also attended a few events and was astounded by the progress and future programs Elon is working upon. Those were some of the best years of my life and I had so many great opportunities while I was a student. I wouldn’t be who I am without the education and experiences I had while at Elon.

November 10: I am thankful for sister time
My sister is my best friend, my confidant, and my fashionista. All outfits must be approved by her as I cannot dress myself. She listens to me complain about real world problems and I get to hear all her stories of college life. We are a good balance and she keeps me sane. My favorite moments of homecoming were just sitting and talking with my sister. I miss her in a daily basis and was glad I got to spend some time with her.

November 11: I am thankful for our armed forces
There is not a group more dedicated to our country than our military. I have so much respect for what they do on a daily basis and it breaks my heart there are not better programs and systems for our veterans when they leave the military. They put their lives on the line, we should be able to give them a better future upon their return. Thank you to all who are serving and have served. Thank you for keeping us safe.

November 12: I am thankful for friends who will look stupid with me
My friend and I took our first Zumba class and it was hilarious. We are both uncoordinated and the class was so fast we looked like assholes. But we had a lot of fun doing it. It’s something I would never do on my own so I was very grateful she would come with me.

November 13: I am thankful for my first roommate
I have Elon to thank for my first roommate who has become one of my closest friends. It was terrifying coming in the first day and realizing you have to share this small space with a complete stranger. My roommate had no issues and taught me how to be confident in myself and not care what the world thought. She is fierce with a sharp mind and has no problem telling you how she feels. She has a giant heart and a kind soul and listens when I need her to and tells me the hard stuff when I need to hear it. She is an amazing wife, mother and friend. Today is her birthday and we celebrate everything she is and everything she will be

November 14: I am thankful for girls nights
Nothing recharges the batteries like a night out with some of my girlfriends. I love my man, but there is something to be said for getting away and just hanging with friends. You did it before a relationship, why can’t you keep doing it when you are in one. I have some friends who’s lives revolve around their significant others and they do everything and anything together and that is absolutely fine. I have always been a more independent soul and need the best of both worlds, not all one all the time. It gives J and I a chance to do what we like and still have an identity outside of what makes us a couple. Who doesn’t love a gossip filled night of cocktails?

November 15: I am thankful for payday
This might sound superficial, but I really love pay day. For an hour, I can live in a stress free world and pretend I have money. Until I pay off my bills and my bank account is back down to pennies. But it’s also recognition that I am taking care of myself. I worked hard to make this money and can take care of the bills and household things I am supposed to. It’s a sign that, I might not have money I can keep, but I’m on my way to something right.

November 16: I am thankful for real world awareness
Too many times, I see people who have no concept of the real world. People who complain about stupid stuff and think it’s the end of the universe when it is really a tiny spec in the grand scheme of life. Too many people don’t stop to appreciate their every day life and be grateful for what they have. I have one friend in particular who does this – who has the best life out of all her friends and still complains the most about her life. She cannot see how wonderful she really has it and it makes me so sad for her. Things might suck sometimes, but there is always someone who has it worse. And you could have it worse. Let’s take one day to stop complaining about what we don’t have and appreciate what we do.

November 17: I am thankful for sleeping in on Sundays
I think this is self explanatory. There is nothing better than getting to turn the alarm off and not have to be up for anything. It’s a luxury that is few and far between these days.

November 18: I am thankful for flexibility
Today did not start off the way I would have hoped. I missed my train by 30 seconds. Quite literally, I parked and was walking to the station in time to see my train leave. And of course the next train wasn’t for an hour. I am grateful for flexible bosses who don’t make us slaves to the punch clock. I feel horrible as this is my fourth week on the job, but I have only been late one other time. So I think it balances out?

So that was not very quick, but there is a lot to be thankful for. Stay tuned for more!

No Responses Yet to “Woah Mid-November”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

