Goodbye 13, Hello 14

31Dec13

It is 2 hours to midnight and there is a Happy Endings marathon on VH1. No better time to reflect on this past year. 2013 has been filled with some of the highest highs and the lowest lows. Some of the high/lowlights:

  • I started down a new career path. Fingers crossed this leads me closer to what I want to do with my life
  • For the first time since 2005, I am staying in the same apartment/house for more than a year
  • We lost a very very dear family friend after a long battle with illness
  • The result of that was my dad going back to school and becoming a Certified Geriatric Nursing Assistant. Families are calling him left and right and there is finally a light at the end of the tunnel after 2 long years of uncertainty
  • J and I hit some huge roadblocks in our relationship and are working through them
  • Many ups and downs with friends and accepting the new “norm”
  • Met new friends and cannot imagine life without them
  • Learned to love myself and my body more than I have in a long time
  • My sister went to London and got the traveling bug and I could not be more proud of her
  • My family has been broken for awhile and we are starting to pick up the pieces

I am looking forward to 2014. I have a lot of hopes for 2014. I keep hoping I am done with the life altering revelations, but they keep smacking me in the face. I hope to be able to handle them better in the coming year. I also hope to really cherish my loved ones this year. Death and sorrow has overshadowed the past two years and it has made me more cynical than I would like. I am going to focus on me this coming year and turning the negative into a positive.

The more I think I need a plan, the less I want one. Every plan I have every made has been turned upside down on its head. What’s the point of obsessing over how things should be when you are missing what is happening now? That is not to say I do not have my goals. You can only move forward when you know what you are trying to accomplish. But I am going to work on adapting and being more flexible. There are always bumps in the road and things will not happen exactly how you expect, as long as they don’t make you move backwards.

A few things to look forward to in 2014:

  • J finishing his EMT course
  • My sister graduating from college
  • Four of my friends getting married and being able to celebrate with them
  • One of my closest friends having her second daughter
  • Being a part of my 5 year college reunion (yes, I joined the reunion committee… what possessed that decision I have no idea)
  • Looking into the possibility of graduate school (oh please help me)

Happy New Year! I hope you are celebrating with your friends and family.

No Responses Yet to “Goodbye 13, Hello 14”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

