Whole29+

16Mar15

So I kind of sucked at blogging through this entire process. We officially ended on Feb. 7. Technically we went 35 days. Out of everyone I lasted the longest. I finally broke on day 29 on Super Bowl. We had planned to keep going through it, but after 6 hours of cooking and several roadblocks in making our compliant food, we needed a drink. The only thing I broke was the drinking and did vodka in sparkling water. I have mixed feelings about not completely doing it all 30 days, but we had already planned on going longer and that sorta makes up for it? Maybe?

In the end, I lost about 4 lbs and a few inches in general. Not as much as I was hoping for.

The guys lost a lot more than the girls, but that was to be expected. I feel a lot better – not bloated all the time, more energy, not giving in to all the cravings, etc. That I think is worth much more than the number on the scale. I would like to tone and that will be next steps.

We fell in love with some recipes that made its way into rotation every week:
Grilled Salmon with Avocado Salsa

Cauliflower Mash 

Cauliflower Rice

Avocado Bacon Sliders

Beef and Cauliflower Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Almond Crusted Chicken Tenders

Dijon Almond Crusted Tilapia

Breakfast Sausage

Chia Seed Breakfast Bowl

Shrimp & Spinach Stuffed Salmon

Pizza Spaghetti Squash Pie

We also found we could make a lot of the things we currently purchase AND they usually taste better. We played around with recipes and made them our own, it definitely built our confidence in the kitchen.

We definitely made the right turn and plan to incorporate the majority of Whole30 into our daily lives, just not as strict. It makes it so so so much easier when you have other people to do it with you. I don’t think I could have done this solo.

We have been off of it for a few weeks now and I can definitely feel the difference. These days have been packed with so many things and it has gotten me feeling similar to how I used to. We are planning on jumping right back on it this week and getting back to feeling really good and energetic.

I highly recommend Whole30!

4 Responses to “Whole29+”

  1. 1 mommabranam

    I’m glad you liked the cauliflower rice! It’s become a staple around my house.

    • 2 B

      It’s delicious and so easy! It has become a staple in our house as well. Great recipe

  2. Superbowl is the perfect end to a whole30! Thanks for linking to my cauli-mash!


Leave a Reply

