Whole30 – Week 2

20Jan16

We are on Day 17 and officially over halfway done with Whole30! This round has really been easier than the previous one we did. I haven’t had any major cravings or miss anything too terribly. The meals we have made have been pretty good, we haven’t had any major flops. I have tried making meals I never thought I would and can be creative with the ingredients I have on hand. I’ve also introduced new spices and seasoning that I wouldn’t have looked twice at in the grocery store.

I can tell my stamina is getting better at the gym. I’m much more alert in class and can push farther than I ever could before. My muscle strength still needs improvement but I can at least keep up at a pace I am happy with. I made it to the gym 4 times last week, which is my ultimate records thus far. The classes are pretty intense, so my body is usually sore after each one. That coupled with laziness had me going twice a week, maybe three times if I pushed it. I think I have figured out a good routine and hope I can stick with it. Being more refreshed and alert in the mornings has helped. Even when I wake up tired, I am ready to go within 10 minutes. My body doesn’t like me sleeping in past 7 anymore either.

The moodiness definitely lingered longer than I anticipated. I’m slowly starting to feel better about it but every so often I’ll get a snarky feeling. I don’t have a great temper so I have been trying to catch myself before it gets to any terrible point. Exercising more has helped keep the endorphins high and the moodiness at bay.

We tried some pretty great meals this past week. I also got to break out the veggetti which was fun. Cauliflower has also been my staple in meals this week.

Chicken Tikka Masala – this was a homerun for us. I have never cooked Indian food before so I was a bit nervous but this recipe was delicious. I would absolutely make this again.

 

Cauliflower Pizza – we could take this or leave this. The recipe was good, but I don’t think it is really up our alley. We put proscuttio, spinach and mushrooms on ours.

 

Pork Two Different Ways – we did a Chimichurri Pork Belly and a regular roasted pork tenderloin. Both were really good. I don’t usually cook with pork unless it is sausage or bacon so it was a nice change. We broiled both and paired it with cauliflower mash and asparagus.

 
Beef Bulgogi – this will also make it into our normal rotation of recipes. It was delicious! I didn’t make the spicy mayo but the beau did put an egg and sriracha on his and absolutely loved it. I also accidentally grabbed squash instead of a cucumber for the picked cucumbers. It surprisingly worked out pretty well.

They are telling us there will be a huge snow storm on Friday through the weekend, we’ll see how much we actually end up getting. The good thing with Whole30 is that our fridge is pretty stocked so we will be alright if we are snowed in for a few days. Quite honestly, I wouldn’t hate it.

No Responses Yet to “Whole30 – Week 2”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

